Indian Regatta

Every August since 1952, the placid backwaters of Alleppey in Kerala have hosted the Nehru Snake Boat Race. The winning team gets the Nehru Trophy, that bestow prestige not just the contestants but their entire village and district. Called snake boats for their long and narrow shape, each of them has over a hundred oarsmen, four key helmsmen and a group of singers to keep them going.

error: Content is protected !!